New member from the UK

njc110381

AH enthusiast
Reaction score
Media
Hi all,

I've been reading your forum for a while now. There are some fantastic posts on here for a beginner to learn from so I thought I should join up and thank you all for your efforts, as well as join in with the conversations at times.

I have around ten years of firearm experience shooting deer locally but have never travelled to Africa. I would like to - my main aim is to at some point take a buffalo but this is something I need to save and also train for. I've bought a CZ550 Kevlar in .458 Lott, and intend to build a good level of experience with the rifle shooting cast bullets to start with, perhaps loaded down to around the level of a stout .45-70 at first to avoid developing a flinch. The plan is to slowly work up, as I get familiar with a load I will add a couple more grains of powder and shoot again until I am completely comfortable with the rifle firing full power 500gr loads. This will also allow me to put a lot of rounds down the gun at a reasonable cost, so the fit of the rifle and it's operation becomes second nature without taking up too much of the savings I will need to build to pay for the trip.

From what I have read here the most important things to consider on a dangerous game hunt are the reliability of the firearm being used and the hunter's ability to shoot it properly and know how to deal with issues like misfeeds, jams etc. I think my approach will probably be the best way to achieve it but I am open to suggestions from those who have actually done it! There's no better teacher than experience after all.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and I hope to speak to you all in more detail soon.

Neil