Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Member of
Courtney Hunting Club, NRA Life Member, SCI Kansas City Chapter
Hunted
Zimbabwe,Namibia, South Africa, KwaZulu Natal, Kalahari, Northwest, Limpopo, Gauteng, APNR Kruger Area. USA Georgia, South Carolina, Arkansas, New Mexico, North Carolina and Texas
Folks I purchased a couple of very nice chunks of wood from a fellow AH member a few months ago with the intent of having a stock made for one of my rifles. I have zero experience with the process and would appreciate suggestions from members who have had stocks made for your favorite rifles. I Emailed a stock maker in Missouri enquiring about possibly doing the work for me and didn't even get the courtesy of a reply.
Not sure if folks that do this are covered up in work or what.
I would like to know:
1) who did you use and the location of the business?
2) what features should I consider with respect to finish and checkering?
3) how long did it take?
4) did you send the entire rifle or just the existing stock? (Nothing wrong with stock I have)
5) anything I should be aware of? (Mistakes you made)
6) what about glass bedding? ( I know nothing about this either)
7) can you give me an idea of cost (PM me if your prefer)

Thanks in advance for suggestions and helping me to get started.

image.jpg

Thinking about doing the custom stock for the 300 WinMag on the left!

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Charley,

Hawk's Gunsmithing
Anchorage, Alaska
907-562-0881

He's generally booked up so unfortunately, if he accepts the job, it will take awhile.
His stock work is tip top though.
Also, if your single shots do not always eject properly, he can fix that common issue as well.
Just my opinion but, no African rifle is complete without an oval cheek piece.

Cheers,
Paul.

Thanks @Velo Dog. Did you take the whole rifle to the guy or just send him the stock?