Bronze supporter
AH elite
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Hunted
South Africa, USA (Alaska, Kansas, Maryland)
God was good to me during this year’s fall moose season. I got to spend 11 days hunting on the Nushagak River - not far from home (I live in Dillingham). I was blessed to stay at the campsite (outhouses!) of some family friends from church, and enjoy the company of several good friends while there.

The weather was mostly rainy and often windy. My hunting buddy moved to the lower 48 this summer, for a job, so I hunted alone the whole time, which was a little odd and a bit sad. I saw good numbers of cows and calves, and three different bulls, including the one I shot. I also saw so many other super cool things, like otters, beavers, and porcupines, and so many different types of birds (I am an amateur birder). Moose season is ALWAYS a blessing; this year was no different.

The particulars for my hunt: the shot came on the evening of the 13th (Season is August 20th - September 15th for GMU 17C), at around 8:20 PM. Distance was 130 yards. I was using my Marlin MXLR in .338 Marlin Express with Hornady factory ammo. The resident season here is any antlered bull. I like meat so I am typically not picky. This one surprised me. I was guessing low 40s; he's right at 50". The rifle was my go-to: a Marlin MXLR in .338 Marlin Express shooting Hornady factory ammo. A perfectly mushroom'd bullet was found under the skin on the far shoulder. I have had great success with this ammo.

A couple of acknowledgements: church friends Michael Nunn and Robert Scott helped pack it out, after I sustained a rib injury (I cracked a couple the morning before I killed my bull, tripping and landing on a beaver chewed stump).

P1040854 - Copy.JPG

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbi...2Cy6wevAYnKwFHw-KAgRie5iVZBxE_w4&__tn__=*bH-R
P1040836 - Copy.JPG

P1040804.JPG

P1040759.JPG

P1040681.JPG

P1040683.JPG

Last edited by a moderator: