Blesbok or Impala

migrabill

AH veteran
Reaction score
Media
Member of
MBS, SCI, NRA
Hunted
US. Maryland. Kentucky. West Virginia. Ohio. Illinois. Pennsylvania. Delaware.
Absolute newbie here. Hunting Africa for the first time in June of 2024. I have been very busy reading all the planning guides and resources on this wonderful site. Question 1. My hunt, among other animals, includes a hunters choice of Blesbok OR Impala. I like the horns better on the Impala, but the facial markings better on the Blesbok. In general terms, is one considered "more desirable" than the other? I am currently thinking I will take whichever one I see the better specimen of. But all things being equal, which should I take?

Absolute newbie here. Hunting Africa for the first time in June of 2024. I have been very busy reading all the planning guides and resources on this wonderful site. Question 1. My hunt, among other animals, includes a hunters choice of Blesbok OR Impala. I like the horns better on the Impala, but the facial markings better on the Blesbok. In general terms, is one considered "more desirable" than the other? I am currently thinking I will take whichever one I see the better specimen of. But all things being equal, which should I take?
Both. One as your choice, the other as a target of opportunity.

Wait until you get there and see what catches your attention more, and bring enough extra cash to take the other if the opportunity arises and it interests you. They're each great in their own way.

Impala for me. I just love hunting them. And good eating too!

Like others mentioned, both impala and blesbok are not very expensive animals to hunt. In your case, as you have a package to fill, I'd suggest to the outfitter, that you are open for both, and would take whichever you encounter first that is of excellent quality as a trophy. Then the remainder of your trip, keep an eye out for the other.