Media
Articles
Hunting reports
USA/Canada
Member of
NAHC, NRA, Rocky Mtn. Elk Foundation.
Hunted
USA, Canada
Hello all, I am just curious if anyone has thoughts on this rifle? Is it a real rigby or a customers mauser that rigby customized?

Seems to be too good to be true at $1700 for a turn of the century Rigby.

https://www.gunbroker.com/item/1016446495

Attachments

• Mauser commercial sporting rifle, early 3 digit SN 711, made 1899, Rigby - Bolt Action Rifles ...pdf
    2.2 MB · Views: 75
I'm no expert, but the font of that "711" serial number doesn't look in keeping with the rest of the rifle. Perhaps others with more expertise will chime in soon.

Something about the wood on the stock doesn’t seem right to me. I’m not intimately familiar with the checkering patterns from the turn of the century, but most of the time a piece of wood will get darker with age. And Rigby’s usually have a beautiful red kind of tint to the finish. With this rifle being 124 years old…something is off.

I’d like to see the action out of the stock and put a call in to Rigby to see if they have any records.

The stock is definitely off. It also doesn't appear to be oil finished. The cheekpiece looks wrong, more 1970 winchester that 1900 Rigby. But the rifle itself, given new wood, would be a pretty good piece if the bore was in good shape. I had reservations about it, and $1800 is too much for a gun that needs to be restocked. Especially since I'd end up doing the restocking, finishing and checkering... and it is a LOT of work. What would you say a fair price for this rifle would be? $1,350-$1,400?