AH veteran
Reaction score
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
NRA Life
Hunted
Namibia, RSA
Over the years, I've heard hunters and outfitters talk about the size of the farm or concession where they hunt. I know one outfitter who has four properties that together comprise more than 1 million hectares. That's almost 2.5 million acres or 3,800 square miles! I've talked with another who had only a few thousand acres. As with other things in life size isn't everything, but if a property is too small, your safari is going to feel like a canned hunt.

Personally, everything else being equal, I prefer larger areas over smaller ones, but of course, terrain and cover matter a lot. I've never tried to put a number on it before this post. I suppose, that for me 25,000 acres (100 square miles) is at the low end of what I prefer. After all, we are not hunting whitetails in the neighbor's 40 acre wood lot at home. I'm assuming a spot and stalk hunt for plains game. Hunting certain animals will, necessarily, have different minimums (some greater and some less).

What do you folks have to say about this?

TTundra

AH fanatic
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Hunted
RSA (Limpopo), USA , CAN
For RSA (all I've hunted in Africa)...I prefer to hunt a 5k+ acre ranch at a minimum assuming good cover and stalking for smaller antelope and game. For larger PG or if more bakke time is needed, 10k-20k acres + at a minimum is nice.
All that said, Ive hunted a 3k acre ranch for 2 days and never got a shot opportunity on what I was after, rather only opportunistic shots.

thriller

AH elite
Reaction score
Media
Member of
NWTF, NRA, DU, SCI and QDMA
Hunted
Countries: Argentina, United States and Zimbabwe States: AL, LA, FL, MS, Tenn., SD, ND, IA, NE, KN,SC, GA, TX and NC