Rigby Highland Stalker vs. Mauser 98 Standard Diplomat vs. Blaser R8

White Buffalo

Reaction score
Hello everyone!
First post on this incredible forum- greetings from Canada!
I've been lurking in recent weeks, and while any hunting trips to Africa are likely well more than a decade away for yours truly, I have found you lot to be the most knowledgable on the firearms which interest me most.
I am very new to firearms, but am no stranger to geeking out and going deep in other arenas... vintage guitars, watches, hifi, fine spirits, etc.
I have historically always searched out the best of the best in the various different fields that've interested me right off the bat. This is mostly filled with disadvantages, as I believe there is something to learning whatever it is on a more "everyman" piece of equipment- a great unifying experience, vs. immediately diving into the deep end with niche, often obscure, "boutique" iterations of these widely loved products.
But that's just how I've always rolled, even if it's to my own detriment.
My first rifle is going to be a Winchester Model 70 Super Grade in either .270 or .380, yet to be decided- and still mulling over optics.
I, unfortunately, cannot currently afford/justify any of the titular rifles, however, want to start saving for one already, so that within 1-2 years I can get into one.
Of course the Blaser R8 is something of an outlier between the other two- I guess, in the sense that it's so damn perfect, and very much contemporary when compared to the other two named classics.
And while I love the idea of the Blasers sheer precision, reliability, rigidity... the heart strings, they are so much tugged by the Rigby and the Mauser!