RCBS Rock Chucker - Will it load .470 Nitro?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by deewayne2003, Feb 11, 2020.

1. deewayne2003

deewayne2003 AH Member

Video/Photo:
    Gentlemen,

While I am no stranger to reloading ammo, this is my first attempt at loading for my new .470 Nitro Express.

I have an RCBS Rock Chucker(Not supreme) and the clearance is showing to be 3.5"

Question is...

Will this press be able to size and load .470 Nitro Express with the case being 3.25" and the OAL of the loaded cartridge being 3.98"?

Not looking for mass production, just wondering if its possible.

2. Ridge Runner

Ridge Runner AH Fanatic

Video/Photo:
    Hunted:
    East Cape, South Africa
    FIRST STEP:
    Call RCBS Tech Service for professional advise and recommendations!!!

I will have to refresh myself on the Rock Chucker, as I have an RCBS turret press and Lee single stage press.

For now:
    Is this a progressive press?
    Inline or rotary (circular) design?
    Are your intentions to attempt to use this press as a single stage or turret press?

Using a loaded factory cartridge:

Insert the cartridge into the shell holder: Can you insert and remove the cartridge: in and out of each of the dies?

Can the dies be adjusted and secured to allow proper function of the respected die?

It would seem the brass will easily load into the press. However,... once a bullet is seated you may have to angle it free of the shell plate and die.

The clearance issue could be anything from a pain in the ass to a major (remove the die each time to remove the completed cartridge) problem.

3. deewayne2003

deewayne2003 AH Member

Video/Photo:
    Its a single stage rock chucker, that I have not bought yet..... trying to make sure it will work before I have a buddy ship it to me.

IMG_8359.JPG

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2020

4. PHOENIX PHIL

PHOENIX PHIL AH ENABLER AH Ambassador

Video/Photo:
    Member of:
    SCI
    Hunted:
    USA, S. Africa