G'day from Oz

bushmantim

Reaction score
Hello fellow hunters,
I have the goal set of a plains game hunt in Africa for my 40th birthday (still a couple of years away), so I have joined your esteemed forum so that I am well prepared for my first PG hunt. I also intend to hunt the mountains of NZ.
I am not interested in trophies, I work as a professional ecologist in Australia, so for me it is more about understanding each game animal, being in the bush and the hunt itself.
I have hunted, and in many cases been involved in culling programs, of most species available in Australia (varmints to large game), with the exception of buffalo & sambar deer, which are VERY high on my to do list.
I look forward to learning from those who have been before!:)

Welcome to AH bushmantim! Setting goals in life is always a good thing... Feel free to ask any questions.

Welcome to AH which offers lots of info. I have some ecological and biological info about most African plains game on my website which may be of interest to you.

Thanks Jerome.
Thanks Werner, your website is excellent. I understood that species such as dik dik were small, but I didn't realise they were only 5kg! I'm sure I've shot European hares that weigh that much!

G'DAY mate!
:welcome: to AH
All the best
Ibie

Brisbane

Hi Bushmantin,

Have you got any information gathered from first hand experience on feral hog hunting in the extended surrounds of Brisbane. I believe there are some large sugar cane plantations north of Brisbane and expect the pigs could be some trouble.
My future brother-in-law has settled there but is not a hunter, would like to find out the possibilities to join in on a hunt when I visit.

Thanks in advance

Gavin

Welcome aboard mate! When I was 20, I set a goal to go before I was 35. I left this year on my 34th birthday back in July. Had the time of my life. Now I have a goal to make it back before I turn 42. We'll see.

nd

Hi Gavin,