PH and US Leopard hunter in Namibia arrested

JamesJ

AH elite
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
USA/Canada
Just got off the phone with one of my outfitters in Namibia, a PH and an American hunter have been arrested. The outfitter was conducting an illegal hunt with dogs on a farm in Namibia, the parks department found out about it and they were both arrested. Outfitter and clients are currently in jail in Windhoek. Their names have not been released yet. If I get any additional information, I will gladly post it.

Just passing this information along, hound hunting for leopard is illegal and the parks department is cracking down on these operators. Please use caution when booking your leopard hunt as there are still several outfitter using these methods for taking cats. While I have no personal experience of Namibian jail, I doubt its a great experience.

buchnerl

AH fanatic
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
SA Hunters, ECGMA
Hunted
Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia
That is a very unfortunate event for both parties - however more for the client than the PH. @James Jeffrey - HuntingAgent.com do you know if it was an SA PH or an NA PH?

UKHunter

AH fanatic
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Europe
Hunted
England, Scotland, Wales, Poland, South Africa, Spain, Germany, USA (Wyoming) and Hungary.
Damn.

Its sad there are still these idiots out there giving us all bad press. You would have thought people would have learnt from the Cecil incident.

JamesJ

AH elite
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
USA/Canada
@Tootabi Hunting Safaris, i am only assuming its a Namibian PH, since they closed dog hunting a few years ago it can be difficult for PH's from other countries to get tags. The other downside to this is the unnecessary focus on leopard hunting as well as an increase in cost for permits in 2016 and beyond.

thi9elsp

Gold supporter
AH fanatic
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa