Blind vs Walk and Stalk Hunting for Beginner

Elton

AH veteran
Reaction score
Media
Good day

I am new to the world of hunting, was taken last year by my father in law and somehow the bug bit me. After treating the symptoms of hunting fever by getting my hands on as many magazines, google searches etc. I now believe that it was a failed attempt and i am to far gone. All this being said i am planning a hunting trip for this year and for some reason i have an affinity to bow hunting.

Now my question is should a new bow hunter start out in a hide or just jump in the deep end of the hunting pool and walk and stalk?

You're likely to have more success in general hunting from a hide or blind. You're not moving and if you're in a proper hide/blind, you're also not seen. But this is a very general statement.

The game you're after may not move through the area you're in during the day. I have tree stands that I set over water when elk hunting here in Arizona. Sometimes it's effective and sometimes it's not. Elk will water sometimes during the day and other times only at night. Just setting out a blind in any given spot expecting to be successful just because you've seen sign of animals there isn't the best strategy.

Having said all that, walk&stalk is challenging. I'd rather be on the ground when elk hunting chasing their bugles. When I get close even if I don't get a shot, I feel like I've accomplished something.

There both very fun ways to hunt and both can be done through out a hunt. Each animal will differ in what will be better at any one time. As a new hunter you will need to learn many new skills for both.