Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Europe
Australia/NZ
Hunted
USA, New Zealand, Namibia, Spain
I have limited experience on different triggers and adjustments that have been made to them to "improve" them. It seems to me that when hunting in Africa triggers are adjusted so there is no takeup slack and are adjusted to a very light pull. I don't understand the reasoning behind this. I personally prefer a tiny bit of slack and about 3 to 4 # pull. Anyone care to comment and educate me on this?

...I personally prefer...
Like BRICKBURN and Red Leg have said, it's what YOU prefer not what others like.
If you are comfortable with a trigger that has take up and a 3-4# pull, so be it.
It's what you like, are used to and will shoot best with that counts.
If you don't know EXACTLY what you are doing, take it to someone who does to make it the way you want it.

Sorry, I did not come across, or convey the idea I'd intended to.
I do not plan to modify my trigger from factory. Should I ever intend to, I would have to discuss it with a gunsmith first and should he recommend a change, a gunsmith would do it. Not me.
Having said that, I have encountered several rifles that have had their triggers modified and all of them were in Africa. These changes were to reduce the take-up and lighten the trigger pull. The question is: What is it about Africa that causes someone to modify the trigger?

Sorry, I did not come across, or convey the idea I'd intended to.
I do not plan to modify my trigger from factory. Should I ever intend to, I would have to discuss it with a gunsmith first and should he recommend a change, a gunsmith would do it. Not me.
Having said that, I have encountered several rifles that have had their triggers modified and all of them were in Africa. These changes were to reduce the take-up and lighten the trigger pull. The question is: What is it about Africa that causes someone to modify the trigger?