RedNeck Safari Training

Backyardsniper

AH elite
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
So in preparation for my upcoming safari I spoke with my PH and we were discussing training and shooting practice and he gave me a couple of ideas for some good drills on shooting fast and reloading and such. I will preface this by saying I have a lot of shooting experience and I also have access to a nice range right down the road from my house and I live in rural Ky, that gives me the ability to do some more creative things than you can at a lot of other ranges.
So given our discussion on shooting fast, acquiring targets, and emptying magazines I hatched an idea. What if I mounted a target to a gas powered R/C car? I have a good friend that I think would be just the guy to help me engineer this little device. I'm picturing an R/C car with a light weight framework attached to it which has an upright on which you could mount a paper target at roughly buffalo or whatever animals vital zone height thereby being able to simulate a charging or retreating, or even a laterally moving target with roughly the same speed and maneuverability as your intended quarry. Now take into account this is both for training and fun before some of you get too serious on me but I think this is a worthwhile venture and would really put ones shooting skills to the test and would also give an unmatched tactical advantage in getting used to acquiring and hitting moving targets. What's your thoughts?

What's your intended quarry? If plains game, your shots will more than likely be at a stationary target. There would probably be more benefit to stick shooting practice.

Many people always dream of attacking buffaloes.
My problem was always to get near to the old guys
The shot was always the easiest.

FTW Ranch SAAM Safari Training Course. Getting the proper training is crucial to the success in whatever you seek. Learn from the best and apply what you can in your own backyard after that.