How Did You Get Started Become Interested In Reloading

I am 57. I started when I was 20 or 21. I got interested in shooting (mainly handguns, 38 & 357) and a friend at church got me hooked. I would go over to his house, visit with his family(he was @ 25-30 with a young family) & he would show me how to load. I loaded quite a bit on an RCBS Rockchucker for quite a few years. Then marriage & kids & I stopped for a long while. I started a gun shop 14 years ago & got re-interested. Now I mainly load 243, 30-06 & 375 H&H. Mostly so I can practice more off season. I fond it relaxing after a long day; a good time to unwind for a1/2 hour or so after supper...Plus, it's FUN!

I'm just getting into it. I used to shoot with a guy who reloaded for me but he's gone on to other things now. We had a deal where I furnished the components and he loaded. We'd go through 200+ rounds a session a couple times a week. Now I have all this brass laying around so I figured I might as well learn to stuff my own. What really got me thinking was when I started reading the threads here and planning my safari. Also, .375 fodder ain't cheap and I don't want to practice with the premium stuff. I can build some light rounds to do that and familiarize myself with my new .375.

I am also taking my .308 to Africa and am working up some good loads for PG. With both guns and good ammo, I should be prepared for most eventualities. In all, I have 9mm, 357, 38 spl, 41 mag, 44 spl, 44mag, 45acp, 45 colt, 30 carbine, 308, 375 and 12 guage to load for. I'm set up for 9mm, 45acp, 308 and 375 right now but undoubtedly more will follow.

Set up is costing me an arm and two legs but I think it will save me a bunch in the long run. Components are much cheaper and the selection is much better. I have the time and so far it's rather enjoyable to crank out a pretty brass cartridge and say that I did it myself the way I wanted to.