Hi from a newbie

Aqua Dude

Reaction score
Hunted
Nil
Hi there all.

I am completely new to hunting and have had no to little time behind the sights of a REAL hunting rifle. Have shot many a bird with my air rifle. I've been out with a mate a couple times whilst hunting kudu with his .308 rifle. (Don't ask me which make etc cause I'm completely clueless). I've had some target practice with his rifle and know basic safety regulations when handling fire arms, but the bug has now officially bitten after numerous compliments from my friend saying that I'm quite a good shot/marksman, whatever you call it.

I would just like to get an idea which make rifles I should and shouldn't waste my time in obtaining from some of the experts of the forum. A .308 bolt action is what I'm looking for as this is what I've learnt to shoot with and I feel comfortable with how the rifle sits in my shoulder and I feel confident in its ability.Its powerful enough to take down small to medium game. On average how much would I have to "sweet talk" the minister of financial affairs (my wife) into to get an average to decent rifle with scope kit? I'd even be prepared to settle for a second hand rifle as a start.

I am aware that a person would have to complete the neccesary proficiency tests to acquire your license to hold such a rifle.

Much appreciated.

Regards

Ewald

Hi and welcome to the site.
I couldnt see where you are from, but any reasonible prized bolt action would serve you fine as a newbie rifle. I use a Remington 700 ADL, wich is a very good rifle for the money. Another ones are Browning, Ruger, Howa, Savage. A bit up in prize (and quality?) are Sako, Tikka, and so on..
I would go for a cheap rifle and spend the buck on a good scope.