Brno ZKK Peep Sights

Fallschirmjaeger

AH member
Reaction score
I now own two (1960's) Brno ZKK rifles with the pop up peep sight in the rear bridge. I have heard of people losing these sights accidentally. Is there something I should be aware of regarding these sights? Do they tend to fall out or do people just remove them to mount scopes and then lose them? I'd also like to hear any thoughts, observances, recommendations, or experiences with anything related to these pop up sights.

Are we talking about the same thing?

Some peep sights are added on top of the rear bridge. What makes me say this is your question Fallschirmjaeger "do people just remove them to mount scopes and then lose them?" I have no experience with them on the ZKK, but yes I suppose some folks could misplace them after removal...
1641158562363.png

HOWEVER, if we are talking about the factory pop up peep sight, I am with Clodo Ferreira, I think that it is about impossible for it to fall off the rifle, or to be misplaced in the field because, of course, it does not need to be removed from the rifle to install a scope.

Because I am a "belt AND suspender" kind of a guy when it comes to rifles in the field (this is probably coming from having seen how issue rifles are treated in the military...) I remember gluing the two adjustment screws (Loctite Blue) after zeroing the peep on my first ZKK, that had a factory pop up peep sight, just to be on the extra safe side.

Zkk 602 peep sight.JPG

This is easy to do: count the turns of the front elevation screw when you remove it and reinsert it after degreasing the thread and dipping the screw generously in blue loctite; and use the index notches on the support piece to keep the peep in the same place when you do the same for the rear azimuth screw.