Your 3 favorite hunting cartridges of all time

Everything I've shot with the grendel is DRT. From alligators to Axis whitetail to a audad that weighed 475 lbs they have all died instantly.

Everything I've shot with the grendel is DRT. From alligators to Axis whitetail to a audad that weighed 475 lbs they have all died instantly.
I’d be interested in what you consider “DRT”.

I’ve been hunting for nearly 50 years with hundreds of animals to my credit with none of them being DRT. I’ve personally witnessed DRT twice. Once was a high neck shot on a kudu by my wife that crumpled the bull where he stood, never taking another step. The other was a head shot to a whitetail by my grandfather, again…falling over dead.

Absent a hit to the CNS, I’ve never even heard of animals dropping like this. Have ALL of the animals you’ve taken with the 6.5G been shot in this manner or do you mean they took a few steps and died? Maybe ran 10-15 yards and fell over?

Falling right in their tracks. Shoot high shoulder shots. Aoudad was quartering away uphill. Shot entered below left shoulder and found bullet against skin on opposite front shoulder and passed just below spine. He locked up and fell chin first.

I’ve been hunting for nearly 50 years with hundreds of animals to my credit with none of them being DRT. I’ve personally witnessed DRT twice. Once was a high neck shot on a kudu by my wife that crumpled the bull where he stood, never taking another step. The other was a head shot to a whitetail by my grandfather, again…falling over dead.

Absent a hit to the CNS, I’ve never even heard of animals dropping like this. Have ALL of the animals you’ve taken with the 6.5G been shot in this manner or do you mean they took a few steps and died? Maybe ran 10-15 yards and fell over?