Media
Hunting reports
USA/Canada
Member of
National rifle association
Hunted
United States and Canada
Background
This is my first hunt report on this forum. I am not the eloquent writer that most of you are but I figured I would give this a shot and maybe inspire someone who is considering a similar hunt. The planning for this trip started in the winter of 2022, looking for the “right” outfitter to conduct this hunt. My parameters were a low fence, free range hunt with an outfitter that hunts them on foot. I ended up booking with Lomas Chicas Outfitters. A friend of mine was interested in the hunt and wanted to join. I have been interested in hunting Nilgai since I was a poor college student and thought this may be the closest experience to an African style hunt in the United States. In the 8 months before the trip I wound up planning a visit with a friend near Hebronville Texas and maybe hunting Javelina. I also booked a sandhill crane hunt with a friend from college who guides for Redeye Outfitters in Littlefield Texas.

The Travel
Living in Maryland, this trip started on Friday before the hunt. My buddy and I started driving from my house on the Chesapeake Bay through Virginia, Tennessee, Alabama, and made it to Picayune Mississippi for the night after a 16 hour drive. On the 4th, we drove the remaining 9 hours through Louisiana, and on to Texas and the Hampton inn in Kingsville.

The Hunt
On we met up with my friend south of Hebronville and spent the day in elevated box blinds looking for javelina and bird watching. It was my first time seeing road runners, green jays, and golden fronted woodpeckers. At about 4:00 PM my hunting partner connected with a nice Javelina at 150 yards using his prized 1903 Mannlicher Schoenauer carbine shooting 156 grain RWS T mantel ammunition. He recovered the bullet. I sat until dark and just soaked in the scenery and listed to the coyotes barking.