Bow set up and arrows for eland

keegangobey

Reaction score
Media
Hey Guys

awesome to be a part of this forum!

I could be doing a eland hunt in zim sometime this year and have a few questions.
What is enough poundage?? my bow is at around 68.
my arrow weight is 485 grains shooting a 125gr broadhead.
which broadheads do you recommend???? and any other advice???

Thanx

I'm not a bow expert but have seen a couple of eland taken with the bow they are huge in first place big bulls in prime condition tip the scales at 2000 pounds. They are very alert one of the most difficult to get with a bow and you must get the right angle do a search on some videos on youtube and you will see half of the eland taken the arrows dont even penetrate full.

So you will need serious penetration !!!! Good luck and patience enjoy.

Get yourself some German Kinetics you can’t go wrong!

Best Regards
Louis van Bergen

keegangobey,

First welcome to the forum. I was lucky enough to take a cape eland with Dries Visser Safaris last year with my bow. They estimated his weight at around 1900 lbs. My bow was set up as follows:
Bow: Mathews Z7, 30 in draw, 73 lbs draw weight
Arrow: Carbon Express Maxima Hunter arrows
Broadhead: Shuttle T-Lock 100 grain
Total Arrow weight: ~420 grains

On the 3rd day of my hunt a huge eland bull offered me a perfect shot. He was quartering away very slightly and I tucked the arrow right into the crease angling through the lungs and heart. With the angle, I did not get a pass through as I hit bone on the off side. Even with this hit my trophy ran well over 100 yards before we found him.

As this was my first safari, I would not call myself experienced, but my opinion is that even though eland are large animals they don't have a skin of armor not overly tough ribs. Put a well constructed broadhead on the front of a medium weight arrow in the right spot and you will kill them.

Here is a photo of my eland:

watermark.php

Hope the info helps.

nd