Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
SCI, DCS, PHASA, SA Hunters, Xtreem Archery, Rowland Ward, WRSA
Hunted
South Africa, Mozambique, Zimbabwe
Hi Guys

Just a little blurb I use when I get given grief about hunting:

I have been hunting for many years and have come to a realisation that unless proper conservation though ethical hunting gets enforced onto hunters and wildlife conservationists, hunting will take a slow death in South Africa, which in turn will have a negative impact on the wildlife in South Africa.

Hunting is necessary for the environment because it allows animal populations to be controlled and kept in balance with the habitat. If animals are allowed to populate unchecked, they will reproduce until they exceed the ability of the habitat to provide enough food to sustain the population. This results in damage to plant communities and eventually malnutrition and starvation for the animals.

When proper management controls are in place, a pre-determined number of animals are allowed to be taken from the population. This assures that the food supply can support the remaining animals in a healthy state.

Out-of-control populations of animals can cause damage to the plant community that can take decades to repair. In national parks where hunting is not allowed, massive damage to trees and other forage and disease and malnutrition of animals has resulted in authorities having to pay sharpshooters to remove excess animals so that the environment could recover and the animal population could be rejuvenated. A very good example is the Kruger National Park with their elephants. They failed to keep the numbers in check and the elephants destroyed allot of vegetation which is going to take a very long time to come right.

Nature is a cruel mistress. It goes in extreme cycles. Without human intervention, populations rise and crash. It is much better to harvest the excess and use them for food than to allow starvation and damage to the habitat to take its toll.