Speech by Emmanuel Fundira President of Safari Operators Association of Zimbabwe at NAPHA AGM 2014

AfricaHunting.com

Founder
AH ambassador
Reaction score
Website
www.africahunting.com
Media
Articles
Speech by Emmanuel Fundira President of Safari Operators Association of Zimbabwe (SOAZ)

NAPHA AGM 26th November 2014

EFFECTS OF ELEPHANTS BAN ON ZIMBABWE AND IMPLICATIONS FOR NAMIBIA AND AFRICA.

Introduction

This is not the title I was given to talk to by my guests but through discussion I have modified my talk to enable me to share with you the overall impact of trade bans in general and more specifically those directed at wildlife and elephants in particular.

I am a Safari Operator in Zimbabwe and neighboring Zambia and my visit is not just to talk but also to look at opportunities here in Namibia and Africa in general.

It is now common knowledge that on the 4th April 2014 the USFWS an Agency of the USA Government imposed a ban on Zimbabwe and Tanzania with regards to the importation of raw Ivory into the USA based on anecdotal data far away from science based processes.

The ban was imposed without warning and it came as a shock and total surprise. Of great concern though is that the ban was imposed when most operators had concluded business with USA clients at the Dallas and Vegas show in Jan and Feb 2014 respectively under their watchful eye of the same American Government officials.

Worst still the hunting season which runs as a calendar year in Zimbabwe had already started and a number of Americans had been guests to the Zimbabwean operators.

Panic therefore ran amok in the industry however and with the help of SCI a top notch delegation of which I was part of was dispatched to Capitol Hill in early May 2014 to dialogue and lobby the Americans to rescind on the ban.