AH elite
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Australia/NZ
Member of
DU, JSA, NAHC( Life member), NRA (Life member)
Hunted
Namibia, Zimbabwe, USA (PA ,WY,TX,MT,AK,NJ,DE,VA,WV,SD,MA,NC,FL,MD,CA) Canada (QC,NF,ON,NT,NWT,BC), New Zealand
I was wondering if anyone else was using a bullet for deer hunting that is longer than the case that holds it. I've been shooting deer for the past seven years with a sub-sonic 300 Blk with 194 gr bullets and when I stood one up alongside the case it looked a bit odd.
300 BLK.jpg

That's pretty cool to see. 300 BO is one deformed looking cartridge.

Well yes I do to, here is my .510 WSM with the 750gr Amax .

Are those Lehigh bullets you are using & how have you found them on Deer last 7 years ?

I have been looking at the Maker Bullets recently for both the BLK & WSM !

.510 WSM A Max.jpg

Well yes I do to, here is my .510 WSM with the 750gr Amax .

Are those Lehigh bullets you are using & how have you found them on Deer last 7 years ?

I have been looking at the Maker Bullets recently for both the BLK & WSM !

View attachment 504603
They are Lehigh Defense 194 gr. Maximum Expansion bullets and so far, I have shot 4 Whitetail bucks with them, and all were one shot kills.

What fps and ft/lbs are you all getting from these combinations?

Out of curiosity. I bought a couple boxes of a 6.5CM subsonic ammo just to try it through a suppressed rifle. Yup, it is quiet. I suspect it would work on a deer from a tree stand, but haven’t tried. I think the energy level was really low, around 300 ft/lbs.

Muzzle vel. is around 1030 fps. At the muzzle it has 457 ft/lbs. at 100 yds it carries 427 ft/lbs. Sub-sonic ballistics are a little bit different than what most of us are accustomed to.

Muzzle vel. is around 1030 fps. At the muzzle it has 457 ft/lbs. at 100 yds it carries 427 ft/lbs. Sub-sonic ballistics are a little bit different than what most of us are accustomed to.