Loading data for 500 Jeffery with 590gr. solids

Carsten

AH member
Reaction score
I am trying to find a starting load for my 500 Jeffery with 590gr. drive band solids.
They are from a local manufacturer and threre is no loading data available.
Normally any load for a similar weight traditional bullet will serve as a starting load for a drive band bullet but I can’t find any similar loads with the powders available here.
I can get any type of Norma, Vihtavuori, Reload Swiss and Lovex but American powders are impossible to get here.
Barnes lists a load with VV N150 for their 570gr. DB solid but I find N150 to be on the fast side.
I would like a slightly compressed load.
I have been using QuickLoad for 20 years and in my experience it is inaccurate with straight wall cases and the Jeffery does not have much of a bottle neck so I‘m not sure of the accuracy yet.
However, I can use it for selecting the proper powder and for a 100-105% load with best performance I‘m down to Norma MRP or RS70.
The percentage of burnt powder could be better though.
What are you thoughts?

I did some load development yesterday.

It turned out that Quickload was quite optimistic about case capacity and Norma MRP bulk density.
Using a drop tube and a compressed load I needed a C.O.L of 95mm/3.7401” with the expected charge.

Max. in my rifle with this bullet is 91.5mm/3.6023”.

I am considering giving the barrel an additional 4mm/0.1574” freebore as the longer rounds would fit better in the magnum sized magazine but for now, I will leave it as it is and use a faster powder.

I had Norma 203B/RL15 and Vihtavuori N150 and in Quickload the latter would give the best loading density.

With a C.O.L. of 91mm/3.5826” and a measured case capacity of 159.5gr. water, I stopped at 108gr. N150.
This gave me 2305fps in my 24.5” barrel.

Energy: 9435j / 6959 ft-lbs

In my 10.5lbs rifle the recoil felt quite manageable and no visible muzzle flash.