Forging knives

Daniel V

AH member
Reaction score
Hi I’m looking at giving myself a lockdown project.
I’ve been looking for a good hunting knife but I decided “hey let’s make one”
Any advice or pictures to help start me off.
What to do?
Complete beginner at forging.
Knows nothing about the topic.
Please enlighten me or chat on where to start and how?
-Thanks

A guy named Wayne Goddard did a book about this exact subject. Wayne Goddard's $50 Knife Shop. Since getting the book may prove challenging at the moment let's see what I recall.
Tools.
A ball peen hammer
Old vice grip pliers
A mill file or two, sandpaper. Or a grinding wheel is a huge plus for shaping if you have one.

Something for an anvil. A chunk of railroad tie bolted to a log end is pretty common. Maybe the anvil side of an old vice, if can use it and not destroy the vice.

Steel.
He liked old lawnmower blades. Leaf springs have high enough carbon too. Simple plain carbon steel. Stay away from stainless for this kind of project.

Heat source. A plain old fire pit will work. Something with forced air is better. He used an old blow drier for bellows. Obviously a gas forge of sorts works too.

Start checking out Youtube. Lots of smiths in simple settings making amazing tools.

Last edited:
I forgot, you'll need a quench for it to harden the steel. Do no use water! That will crack your blade.
Use oil. So old frier grease from the kitchen or old motor oil, in a metal bucket or pan. A bread pan fits a knife nicely. Goddard had some crazy mixture of jist about everything as I recall.

I forgot, you'll need a quench for it to harden the steel. Do no use water! That will crack your blade.
Use oil. So old frier grease from the kitchen or old motor oil, in a metal bucket or pan. A bread pan fits a knife nicely. Goddard had some crazy mixture of jist about everything as I recall.

What’s a quench