Best double rifle for the money $$

We are blessed in South Africa as we have an abundance of doubles and the exchange rate favours US buyers at R15 to a dollar. To import it that's the bummer. For Eg I know of two unfired 500NE a Merkel and a Heym for less than $10000

We are blessed in South Africa as we have an abundance of doubles and the exchange rate favours US buyers at R15 to a dollar. To import it that's the bummer. For Eg I know of two unfired 500NE a Merkel and a Heym for less than $10000

Is the Heym an 88B model?

I was considering buying a double rifle, and want to stay under 10K. I have been looking around, and that seems very possible. What is the opinion on a double in 470 NE? I have looked online only, no where close to actually handle a double.

Edward,

I am a complete rookie in this type of caliber of gun, however recently I was able to handle and shoot a Merkel .470 NE. It felt great, shouldered great, and the kick was not too bad. Best of luck in your search for a double

Last edited:
Thank you all, look forward to all suggestions. I looked for Sabatti doubles and found a OU in 470 NE, but wonder what the OU would be like as a rifle. I have shot OU shotguns., but never a rifle. Anyone here have experience with an OU?

I'm in between double rifles right now but I am VERY close to buying my next one. I am very impressed with the O/U rifles I have handled. The seem to be very accurate and handle very well. Some people make a big deal about the amount of gape when the rifle is open for reloading. The argument being that the slightly wider gape of an O/U rifle slows the reload. Maybe, but if the gun has ejectors a reload can be done so fast that I hardly think there is much perceivable difference. O/U double rifles may well be superior in many ways to SxS double rifles so really it is a matter of personal preference.