Leupold scope discoloration

cash_tx

Gold supporter
AH fanatic
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Has anyone else seen issues with older Leupold scopes discoloring? I've got this vintage Leupold Vari-X II 2-7x mounted on a Whitworth Express 375 H&H; and over a period of years, it has changed to what could be described as a "rose gold" color. The scope still works fine, and appears to be only cosmetic; so I'm just curious as to what causes this to happen. The gun has been stored in virtually the same climate- and humidity-controlled environment for the past 20+ years.

Whitworth_Scope.jpg

No idea, I have a VX II 3-9x40 that is 50 years old and it is still as glossy as the day that I put it on my rifle.

They could of just had a bad batch of blueing on that run.

While I am no expert on vintage Leupold scopes I believe the ones I own are aluminum tubes. If that is what your is also it is anodized not blued. I have a rifle with an aluminum floor plate that has turned that exact color.

I think it’s pretty common, sometimes called “plum” and sometimes even desirable, like a patina….. I don’t know the nature of the oxidation or other chemical reaction that causes it, and have never heard of anyone reversing it. I hope that helps…

If memory serves me correct, color anodizing involves the use of dyes. Over time the dyes can react to light, humidity, oils, solvents, etc.

Seen quite a few Leupolds that do that - even have 1 or 2 with the same patina - not sure what specifically causes it.

Thank you all for the responses and insights. It's definitely not bothersome to me; more of just a curiousity. I actually kind of like it, because it's not something you see every day.

I've got an older one that is getting a little "purplish" as well.

Yep, common on the real old ones. Have a couple myself. I actually like it.

T