Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Member of
OFAH, DSC
Hunted
South Africa, Canada, USA
Back in the late 1980s the the Turkey was successfully reintroduced into Ontario. This initiative brought back a missing piece of the biodiversity here. Predictably, hunting organizations had a hand in the reintroduction. Since then, Turkey have thrived presenting a great opportunity for hunters and a nuisance for farmers. I personally believe that turkey hunting is one of the most underappreciated forms of hunting available to us. These creatures are incredibly difficult to hunt and present an opportunity to practice the techniques you need for big game hunting. When you get one home the breast meat is very good but you could use the legs as a lethal weapon.

I am no expert but enjoy hunting Turkey very much. In the past we have had some success hunting from blinds. If you know where they are roosting this can be quite a good way to go. However, still-hunting, or spot and stalk, is the most fun and probably necessary considering the quarry you are after. Also, one has to be adept at using various types of calls to entice these massive birds into range. A unique aspect of this type of hunting is that the female often goes to the male during the mating season. So the trick is trying to pull in the Tom when often they hang up waiting for the female to come to them. To make matters worse, they have wickedly good eyesight and they seem to hear everything! Thank God they do not have a powerful sense of smell as well LOL