www.tokoloshesafaris.info
Deals & offers
Media
Articles
Member of
Life Member Safari International, Life Members Dallas Safari Club
Hunted
Zimbabwe, South Africa, Tanzania
As a Zimbabwe safari operator I have watched our post Covid cost of doing business increase substantially. Here are a few of the increases.

Elephant permits 100% increase
Plains game permits 50%
PH with his or her hunting rig 50%
Toyota 4X4s 100%
Toyota OEM parts 100%
Fuel varies
Food % unsure
Concession fees 100%
Ammunition 100%

So far we have increased our prices by 10%. Most operators in most popular African hunting destinations are facing the same rising cost. Not sure about RSA.

As hunt prices increase many hunters and operators try to compensate by cutting the number of hunting days. Example we receive requests for seven day elephant hunts, thats usually doable. Then the hunter wants to add, buffalo, hippo and croc and maybe some tiger fishing. Impossible.

Recommendation, hunt now while it is still affordable. Do not cut your hunt time so short that you cannot full fill your dreams.

Lon

I fear its only going to get worse with world at Knife edge and rising fuel cost, what is however wrong is that Food in the grocery chain shops never lower their prices even when fuel drops but the food producers the farmes do drop their prices.

With my workers who works above minimum wage they struggel to keep up with inflation here in South Africa but I cannot just pass on the cost to my clients but rather work more clever and make plans.

I fear its only going to get worse with world at Knife edge and rising fuel cost, what is however wrong is that Food in the grocery chain shops never lower their prices even when fuel drops but the food producers the farmes do drop their prices.

With my workers who works above minimum wage they struggel to keep up with inflation here in South Africa but I cannot just pass on the cost to my clients but rather work more clever and make plans.