Dr Ray

AH legend
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Australia/NZ
Member of
Sporting Shooters Association of Australia + CRM Gunsports (Cairns)
I need some advice!

I have handloaded by 300 Winchester Magnum
Info
Lapua cases

Powder AR2225 - compressed

Loads as per data sheet

I have included the Hornady ballistic coefficient data

For long range shooting - 1 Km
What bullet weight for the 300?

The 195 Grain has a very little velocity variance

IMG_3457.jpg 300 Winchester Mangum.jpg

Attachments

• Ballistics for 25 06 and 300 Winchester Magnum.pdf
    145.5 KB · Views: 58
Last edited by a moderator:
Is the barrel a standard 1:10 twist? If so, i think anything in the 180-210gr range would work good (probably right around 200gr).

Yes standard 1 in 10

I thought the 195 grain bullets because of the small variation in velocity.but; I’m not experienced in long distance shooting.
Hence I’m asking for advice,
Ballistic coefficient for the 208 is better but will it be as accurate at 1 km as the 195 grain

Last edited:
I would really like assistance in which bullet weight

Pretty please

Yes standard 1 in 10

I thought the 195 grain bullets because of the small variation in velocity.but; I’m not experienced in long distance shooting.
Ballistic coefficient for the 208 is better but will it be as accurate at 1 km as the 195 grain
@Dr Ray
What about the 212gn ELD or one of the very sleek Berger's
Bob

Yes standard 1 in 10

Your instincts are spot on. Once you get way out there, the velocity variation, or more properly standard deviation, becomes a major component. If your SD varies much, the further you shoot the more vertical stringing you will see regardless of inherent rifle accuracy.