Reloading Slug

philip in china

AH senior member
Reaction score
Can 12 bore slug be successfully reloaded? If so does anybody have any comments to make?

Can 12 bore slugs be cast at home or should I buy them ready made? Again any comments please.

12 gauge slugs can be reloaded. I have no experience with them though. I buy them when they are on sale. Sorry I couldn't be more help on the subject. Shotgun hunting for whitetail deer is huge in the Midwest of USA. I can hit a 12 in plate everytime at 200 yds. with a rest and my custom shotgun.

12 guage slugs can be reloaded sucessfully. A friend of mine cast his own slugs with great results. I tried a few and they did shoot pretty good. I'm considering it as shotgun slugs are getting ridiculously expensive here in Wisconsin! The slugs he reloaded were quite accurate.

Metal used

Would you use a hardened bullet metal. I used to use about 1 part of linotype to 2 or 3 parts of lead. As the lead was largely bullets dug out I was aware that my bullets were getting harder all the time so eventually went on to just recycling old ones. How green and eco friendly can you get?

Hello;
Sorry for the late reply, but I just found the thread. Yes, 12 gauge slugs can be reloaded....I've molds for both the LEE and the LYMAN 12 gauge shotgun slugs; the LEE is a foster-type slug with a 'driving band' on the inside...the LYMAN is a wasp-waisted style slug. The LEE comes in 7/8 and 1 oz weights, while the LYMAN weighs (IIRC) 1 1/16 oz.
Both are loaded in a plastic shot cup (they take the place of the shot), and can use a folded crimp, which makes things a bit easier. I haven't used them, but you an get Gulandi dangerous game slugs from BPI and load them with a roll crimp.