Chinese interest regarding hunting in Africa

A. Austin

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I posted a thread way back in 2019 about possibly becoming a hunter in Africa. If you read the thread, you would know that I have no experience in stalking-based hunting (ie. most of African hunts), but rather a "waiting for target" based form of hunting (ie. go in the bush, which is basically thick jungle, and wait around in an area known for small game animals, such as agoutis). Rarely do we hunt deer (I hunted deer for seven times in my entire life), and in our country hunting for everyone (so no "PH" business even for the most experienced hunters) is largely limited to a few months (September to January last time I checked). I began university beginning in 2020, and will complete my BA this year God willing. I got a few replies telling me that it's quite difficult to become a PH, as there are many locally born fellows that would obviously be more competent for the job than someone who is not from there and even worse, an inexperienced hunter. However, someone did tell me that learning Mandarin or Cantonese would be a possible asset for an otherwise inexperienced person, but I don't know if Chinese interest in Africa has evaporated due to that event which lasted for two years (and is still currently talked about by the WHO). Is there Chinese interest in big game hunting in Africa as of 2024?

To summarize my real question:

I have little skills in tracking animals (other than some basic scent-trailing and a LITTLE BIT of environment-based trailing such as observing animal dwellings in a supposed empty area due to the nature of the animals found in my country and circumstances). We've used hounds most of the time as well.