Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
NRA
Hunted
Michigan, Texas, Missouri, Limpopo Province South Africa
I've been shooting for about 60 years and own enough rifles to fill several safes and I never heard about Talley Rings and or bases until I joined this forum. In the past I've used Weaver and or Warne Rings and never had a problem. Is it caliber dependent, are they manufactured to a tighter tolerance, do some manufacturers recommend Talley Rings over others? I see that they cost more than what I normally use, but does that necessarily make them better? If possible, I'd like to stay away from "opinions" and just let the facts speak for themselves.

I think what you mostly see here is the preference for the Talley QD rings. They simply work, but so does Warne and some others. I've personally used both Warne and Talley and both have been great overall. I have had Talley come loose once, but that could happen with any.

The one thing I don't like about Talley is that wherever they tighten that is the way they keep pointing, whereas with Warne you can "flip" the direction as you probably already know.

The only manufacturer I've ever noticed recommending one or the other is CZ, who suggest Warne over Talley on their left hand models due to the way it fits apparently.

I like their "one piece" rings because they are simple and durable. Just single machined blocks that bolt on the top of the receiver without any "moving parts".

Many say good things about the QD rings are good also but I have not tried a set yet.

@Shootist43 are getting ready to put a scope on that 416 Rigby?