Fritz Rabe

AH veteran
Reaction score
Media
Articles
Member of
CPHC-SA, South African Bowhunting Association (SABA) Instructor, NSRI
Hunted
SA, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Namibia, Mozambique, Ethipoia, Cameroon, CAR, Tanzania, Canada, USA, Spain
WHY BUCK-FEVER

What is it? Why do we suffer from it and is there a cure? Target panic or buck-fever. It is all the same thing. It is a normal human reaction that occurs when the body suddenly gets an adrenalin injection. We all suffer from it. Some just more than others and we never know when it is going to get us.

I have been bow-hunting for 27 years and every now and then it creeps up on me like a Mamba waiting to strike.

Don,t laugh now but the worst for me is a Rabbit. Yes, Bugs Bunny. They are just evil. I HATE them for what they do to me. I don,t get buck-fever, even when hunting a Lion or Elephant but a Rabbit just kills me. When ever there is one in my sights and I come to full draw, the world spins and the Rabbit becomes impossible to hit. I find my heart beating at 200 beats/minute and I sweat like an open tap.

I had a great client once that hunted everything with me and he was an excellent shot. One-shot-Sam. One year he wanted an Elephant. Just a normal Ellie. At 25 yards and full frontal I thought that this Jumbo is already in the salt. The early morning sun was directly behind the Ellie. He did not know that we were there. As his ears opened, Sam,s 458Lott went BANG!!!! I can clearly remember a ray of sunlight shining through the hole in his left ear as the bullet flew 3 feet of target at 25 yards.

He did get his Jumbo but needed some help. He was soaking wet and he forgot to breathe.

That is the secret. It starts with breathing. Picture this: You sit in a blind and it is comfortable but not much is happening. You feel drowsy and the birds make your eyes droopy with their song. Then a monster Kudu appears out of nowhere and by the time you see him, he is already at the water. You grab your bow and???.