Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Member of
OFAH, DSC
Hunted
South Africa, Canada, USA
I picked up a Swarovski z5 at a good price. It's the first scope I have with parallax adjustment. But, the more I look into that feature the more I think it may prove to be a nuisance for standard hunting!

For hunting situations under 300 yards, the parallax knob has marks for 50, 100, 200. I don't see myself fiddling with that knob when a monster Kudu strolls out at 75 yards o_O So, what should the default setting be? My thinking is to set the parallax for my zero distance (200 yards for example) , and not worry about it unless the situation allows for it "over there...baboon at 475 yards..." Type thing.:)

Is this a reasonable approach?

That's what I do, not that I'm an expert or anything. My rifle is zeroed at 100 yds (West Texas, lots of hunting from box blinds). Never had an issue shooting out to 150-175 yds without adjusting. Don't get many shots past that where I hunt

Check to see how far your cross hairs move when you move your head behind the scope. At 100 yards, could they move off a targeted kill area? For my rifle, not setting paralax causes me to be unable to shoot a 2 inch group. Shoot 3, reload, and new cheekweld puts the rest of a 5 shot group a few inches away. May have cost me my first tahr at 180 yards on a different rifle.

Pheroze,
I always have scopes with the knobs on them as they are essential for long range shooting with extreme accuracy. Now that said I do as you already suggested yourself set it for the zero on the gun which is generally 200yds for me. Those yd markings on the dial are only an estimate. I kinda use it as a focus dial then move your head a little side to side if cross hairs don't more you have it set.
I NEVER TOUCH THE THING AGAIN WHEN I AM ACTUALLY HUNTING UNLESS THE SHOT IS OVER 300YDS AND I HAVE PLENTY OF TIME.