www.gohuntingandfishing.com
Media
Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
SCI
Hunted
Australia ( Northern Territory), New Zealand ( both the North and South Island), Namibia, RSA, England, Scotland, Argentina, Canada (Northwest Territories, Quebec, Alberta, Ontario), United States (WA,WI, AR,AZ,CO,NM,WY,NE,TX,OK,KS,SD,LA,MO,IA,IN,IL,KY,MI,OH,PA,NY,MD,NC,FL,AK)
My life as an archer started back in 1985. I was 24 and attending graduate school for a career in architecture. Up until this point, killing Mule deer and Elk with a rifle was child's play. In Colorado, one deer and one elk was a season's limit. This meant I was out of the woods in a matter of a few days. Hunting was fulfilling and yet very unfulfilling. As a poor college student, I was thankful for the bountiful supply of venison. But, I felt empty and unchallenged. While in the woods/mountains and pursuing, everything seemed so right and natural. That's truly where I wanted to be! I turned to the bow to provide myself with more "in" time. I haven't looked back! Some 27 years later, I have come to realize the "trophy" is in the journey-the experience (a part of that journey is sharing with family and friends). I was asked one time, "Do you hunt for the meat or the horn?" I replied quickly, "Neither. Both are merely a bonus for being out there." Would I survive if hunting, more particularly bow hunting, was taken away? The answer is yes. However, there would be an enormous void in my being.

So, what makes you tick? Why are you an archer?

I like this post, first and foremost, well put together and sincere.

First off I am a rifle hunter, I love it and I will never give it up.