What is the most common range when bowhunting?

senjahunter

Reaction score
Media
Hello
I am going to Namibia in May for my first bowhunt.

I am wondering what is the most common ranges when bowhunting.

I am comfortable up towards 40 meters
And i have sighted my pins from 16 to 36 meters.

Does this sound appropriate?

Thankfull for any tips

You are set.
Practice and then go have fun.

Welcome to AH! I am by no means an expert bow hunter, but yes those ranges are just fine.

I have bow hunted four different places in Africa (including Namibia). Admittedly I haven't done any spot and stalk hunting that requires some longer shots, but the longest shot I have taken at an animal is 36 yards. You are good to go.

Oh yeah, you're gonna LOVE IT!! :)

Yeah, hunting from a blind will generally be 15-25 yards at a waterhole unless the animals are on the far side and even then, nothing really over 35 yards or so. I had one shot at about 7 yards, but that was unusual - the only animal to be that close in 8 days.

Spot and stalk you are more likely going to be 20-50 yards, maybe more but you probably won't take the farther shots due to the cost of a wounded animal in money if lost, or time if you have to track them. Then again, you might have to track them anyway because sometimes things don't work out perfectly but if you are confident out to 40 yards, you should be fine.

All my game was taken between 20 and 30 yards ! Good luck and play safe !
Glen

It seems to make a difference if the outfits are primarily bowhunting, they set their shots up closer, most about 20 yards. The outfits that also do some bowhunting but are primarily rifle tend to have longer shooting. Some have even put feed out at 35 yards, one place was over 50 yards to the salt. I believe they just didn't know any better. That's just my opinion from 14 African bow hunts.

senjahunter,