Wanted Sako .416 Remington

I’m going to assume you say to forget the Sako and go with one of the other options for a true CRF action which I can understand, but have you or any PH’s you’ve worked with actually had a Sako fail during a hunt?
Yes

Why not go with 458 lott. It is a stoping rifle in the view of many members here. In general 416 is not a charge stopper if you ever need to. Again it is the opinion of many members on this forum. Not mine as I have no experience in Africa. From what I have read in this forum, other forums and the book from Pondora Tylor and others my minimum will be a reliable 458 if ELEPHANT is on the list.
In a word...recoil.
If @JHT is looking for a 416 for his first Buff/Ele hunt...
It's a pretty good bet he doesn't already own DG rifle.

Shoot the largest caliber you can handle.
For some people I know they stopped (or should have) at 7mmRM.
It would at least be wise to shoot a 458LOTT before buying.
Hell, it would be smart to shoot a 416RM before buying.
Working up from the "normal" 300WM recoil levels isn't easy.

Last edited:
The guru's at our club had a 416 Rigby rifle brought in for checking - the safari operator insisted because one of his learner PH's couldnt hit anything and blamed the rifle. Long story short it checked out just fine, but it was indeed a kicker as I found out too. The cure - get him a nice heavy 375 H&H, probably CZ550. First shot placement beats all.

@375Fox
You will find number of reports for sako, on this forum, ejection issues in large calibers.
What I understand, ejected casing, hits the scope, drops back in action, jams. Do the reasearch on this forum.
Medium calibers in sako rifles, appear to work flawlessly.

If this is what IvW had in mind, I cannot say.

@375Fox
You will find number of reports for sako, on this forum, ejection issues in large calibers.
What I understand, ejected casing, hits the scope, drops back in action, jams. Do the reasearch on this forum.