Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Member of
Rocky Mountain Goat Alliance, Wild Sheep Foundation, NRA
Hunted
US, Namibia, Tanzania, South Africa
I am new to bow hunting, so when I decided to take a bow on my upcoming trip to South Africa, it was clear some practice was in order. A hog hunt in TX seemed just the ticket, so I messaged Erik (@gizmo) at Rockin' G to see what we could put together. It needed to be a quick trip as I have no vacation left for the year; the date was set for Presidents' Day weekend so that Erik was done with show season and I could capitalize on the holiday weekend.

Fast forward a couple months and I was on my way to Amarillo via Billings and Dallas. Erik picket me up at the airport and we headed out to the ranch in the dark. There we met two of Erik's friends (Shane and Genevah) who were helping out for the weekend. They had dinner waiting for us in the crock pot and one thing for the weekend became clear -- I would not go hungry! These folks can crush it on the cooking!

Awoke to a beautiful TX sunrise. Really pretty country. We had finished breakfast and were getting kitted up when Shane spotted a pig silhouetted on the adjacent hill. Erik and I quickly hopped on the CanAm and headed over to see if we could catch up to them, but they were on the move and stayed well ahead of us.

Soon it was evident that no more pigs were moving and the likelihood of finding them bedded was low, so we went to plan B.... When we were on the phone a couple days before the hunt to coordinate airline pickup, etc, Erik had said "I know it sounds crazy, but do you have one of those training bows? Bring it. We can stalk other stuff while the pigs are bedded without drawing actual arrows on expensive animals." So now we began to play out his idea.