hawkeyesatx

AH enthusiast
Reaction score
Media
Member of
Life Member NRA, Life Member DAV
Hunted
Coyote, Deer, Elk, Moose
I was wondering what would be the best and most cost effective way to turn my rifle that’s .30-06 into a .35 Whelen? And how do I go about doing that?
What are your opinions? Thank you already in advance for your suggestions and expertise.

Hawk
IMG_1205.jpg

IMG_1206.jpg

Take said rifle to gunsmith. Have gunsmith rebarrel rifle to .35 whelen. Pay gunsmith. Take possession of said rifle. Go shooting. It’s a simple task for a gunsmith with proper tools and knowledge. A royal pain trying to do it yourself if you don’t have the tools of knowledge.

One of my good friends said to ship it off to JES to rebore it to .35 cal!
Is that as expensive as a barrel swap?
I’m new to project rifles, so please bear with me .

Hawk

The JES rebore is likely less expensive than a rebarrel and will work just fine. If you are looking for something with more custom options i.e stainless barrel, heavier or longer barrel, fluting or threading, ect...then a rebarrel may be the way to go.

Rifle projects are fun

Not sure on cost difference, new barrels run $200.00 plus or minus depending on where you procure them. Usual gunsmith labor for rebarrel and head space run about 65.00 more or less around here. More if sights are installed, about $25.00 a threaded hole. On rebore a lot depends on how much meat will be left on the barrel if it can be done or not.

Depending on what sort of barrel you want, the costs could be roughly the same.. or could be considerably more for either option...

The JES option is $250...