The "Erongo Verzeichnis fur afrikanisches Jagdwild"/Erongo Record Book for African Game Animals

Discussion in 'News & Announcements' started by AFRICAN INDABA, May 10, 2013.



    Aug 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    Member of:
    CIC, Rowland Ward, B&C, DSC, German Hunting Association, KZN Hunting Association, Wild Sheep Foundation
    Western US, Western Canada, Alaska, Colombia, Tajikistan, Russian Federation, China, Iran, Austria, Germany, Spain, Czech Republic, UK, Indonesia, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Congo, Tanzania, Uganda, Botswana, Namibia
    The "Erongo Verzeichnis fur afrikanisches Jagdwild"/Erongo Record Book for African Game Animals
    Kai Uwe Denker

    The Erongo Verzeichnis is a new trophy record book initiated in Namibia. It is structured in such way as to cover the entire African continent that has been initiated by hunters to contribute to the protection of intact African ecosystems in the form of large scale open wilderness areas, with the natural range of species and to enhance the concept of respectful sustainable use of natural recourses.

    Kai-Uwe Denker is the publisher of this record book, which at the moment appears in the form of a bi-annual magazine. But due to financial reasons it is presently only available in German. An English version is due in the second half of this year.

    A working group of experienced professional hunters and wildlife experts meet on workshops twice a year to attend to all relevant matters. A gremium consisting of Ronnie Rowland, Ernst-Ludwig Cramer and Kai-Uwe Denker verifies all decisions.

    The concept of the Erongo Recordbook rests on two legs. The one leg is related to the areas from which animals to be registered in the new record book, come from. The following criteria apply:

    a) only animals hunted within the historic natural distribution range and in natural habitat of the species in question may be registered

    b) only animals hunted under free-range conditions (i. e. the animal has to be able to retreat beyond the reach of hunters by crossing the border of the hunting area) may be registered

    c) only animals hunted in areas, where at least one of the large African carnivore (lion, leopard, cheetah, spotted hyeana, African wild dog) occur and exercise their natural role within the ecosystem, may be registered.

    The second leg is related to the age of the animals hunted for trophy hunting purposes. We realise the damage that can be done by taking prime breeding bulls from the animal population in question. The Erongo Record Book strives to create incentives to hunt old animals past their prime and to discourage the hunting of well endowed young animals and prime breeding bulls. The trophy animals are categorized in the following age groups:

    a) immature animals (for example buffalo with soft bosses) - animals in this age group do not qualify for entry, irrespective of trophy size

    b) mature animals - the sum of the trophy measurements of animals in this age group is multiplied with age factor 1.0 to establish the score

    c) old animals - the sum of the trophy measurements of animals in this age group is multiplied with age factor 1.1 to establish the score

    In this way the trophies of old animals past their prime score higher than younger animals of the same trophy size. In case of animals where brooming of horn tips is prevalent (for example roan antelope) additional measurements highlight the trophy potential of worn trophies and add further points (in case of the roan the ridge section of the longer horn is added to the sum of circumference and length of the longer horn and multiplied with the relevant age factor to give the score).

    A group of experts has made intensive studies into ageing the various African game animals. In the case of horned trophy animals, for example, the age is determined on factors like hardening of horn bases and ageing of horn cells. Further indicators like ossification of scull fissures, tooth wear and wear on horns are taken into account. Various indicators for different animal species have been determined.

    The group of experts meets on workshops twice a year. A gremium of three experienced Professional hunters verifies all decisions.

Share This Page