Swedish guy, new in SA

Gustav Butlex

Reaction score
Hello there,

My name is Gustav and im a Swedish photographer, currently based in South Africa for a couple of months. I stumbled upon your website just now, seemed like a huge one so I figured you could help me answer a question.

I wonder if it's possible to join a hunt, as an observer (not knowing anyone of the hunters) and make a photo- series?

The important subject for me is not the animals, but the hunters and their approach to it all.

So if anyone if you guys know a company or maybe a private hunter who you think could be up for this kinda thing. Or just give me information, feel free to give me a shout!

Best regards,

Lot of outfitters on this site but many of them are in the states right now at hunting shows. It's also the rainy season over there so the number of hunts going on could be very small. In the end it would be the hunters who need to agree to you being there taking pictures if them and they are going to question your motive sir.
Good luck.

Welcome!

In addition to what CAustin points out you may also want to mention what part of the country you're in. This would help if an outfitter/hunter is interested.

Thanks guys! Ahh, I see. But im gonna be here until June, is the hunting season gonna kick in during that period?

Yes, I understand that CAustin. Thats always the question when taking anyones photo, in any situation. But I guess what im asking is your personal opinion on the matter.

Oh yes of course. Im based in Johannesburg!

Welcome to AH Gustav! You would need to get the hunter to agree to it...

Welcome to AH Gustav. The hunting season starts to get into full swing in May and is on through at least September. I have to echo the sentiments of others regarding your intentions. I apologize if offense is taken if it seems I or others appear to be suspicious, but there are reasons for this.