Articles
Hunting reports
Africa
USA/Canada
Member of
OFAH, DSC
Hunted
South Africa, Canada, USA
Has anyone swaged a bullet to a smaller diameter? The fine folks at Woodleigh have suggested I could do this to convert their bonded .416 to .411. The reason would be to use Woodleigh in a soon to be built 400 H&H. I have easy access to these bullets and I like the manufacturer very much.

I know. I know, why not just build a 416 Remington...well, that would be too easy now wouldn't it!

I have no experience with what swaging entails, and whether one would consider the final product to be advisable on an expensive hunt over seas. Any advice would be appreciated.

My gut is telling me to not bother, but I thought I would investigate this option a little further.

Thanks

I've swaged a 300g XTP .429 bullet to .423 so I could use it for cheap practice ammo in my 404. It works just fine. I can swage mine in a rock chucker press and didn't need any fancy swaging press. Do need to lube the hell out of the bullets.

I am not an expert in the process, but as I understand it, the limiting factor for jacketed bullets is that the jacket springs back more than the lead core so if you swage too much you can get jacket separation from the core with resultant inaccuracy. You are looking at 0.005 reduction which is less than what I do so it should be within the realm of possibility. I imaging bonding would only help avoid separation. Dave Corbin can make the swaging die (or dies if the bullet is too tough to reduce in one step) for you. He'll need sample bullets to get it right because of the above-mentioned spring back.