Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
NRA, SCI, RMEF
Hunted
USA (Wyoming, Utah, Texas, Idaho), South Africa
So, my buddy and I (we towed my Dad along, he only wanted to shoot with a camera) just got back from South Africa, Limpopo. It was ridiculously fun. And since I have had a great time reading the stories here I thought I would post mine.

We were picked up by our PH (Jakes vd Merwe of huntsafari.com) in Jo'burg and driven out to the concession. I have to stop here because Jakes was awesome. See, my dad has MS. It's not bad but he can't walk for long periods and is a bit unsteady at times. But Jakes did EVERYTHING he could to make it a great experience for my dad. I can't say enough about Jakes.

Anyway, we drove out and spent a few hours scouting and walking the concession. My background is mule deer and elk so to see the bush come alive and all the animals moving was awesome. We saw pretty much everything we wanted to hunt the next day and I had a 150 yard shot at Gemsbok but passed not because of the size but because I think I was still in shock :) In hindsight, it was a better shot than I took the next morning but that's besides the point.