SOUTH AFRICA: Moretla Safaris Review Sable Package

Discussion in 'Hunting Reports Africa' started by Chris Meloche, Aug 6, 2019.

1. Chris Meloche

Chris Meloche New Member

Video/Photo:
    Member of:
    SCI Calgary
    Hunted:
    Canada, US, South Africa, Namibia, New Zealand
    Hunted Moretla Safaris property in Limpopo RSA from July 28 to August 3rd, 2019, including the 2 days for pickup and drop off at JoBerg with 5 days overall hunting. Found the staff (Japie, the owner; and hires, Annie and Stephen, the cleaner and tracker/skinner ) and the PH (Tyron and his wife, Anne-Marie) to be friendly and accommodating. The camp and facilities were very comfortable and the food was great. Only issue was WiFi (problem with local cell tower) but Tyron and Japie set up hotspots with their phones so issue addressed.

The hunt was part of the advertised "Sable Deal," posted on Africa Hunting earlier in the year. I am fairly new at hunting Africa (4 previous safaris with two outfits in RSA and Namibia , in 5 different concessions over the past 2 years). These past experiences are what would be best called "fair chase" in that all but one of the concessions were over 10,000 ha and with only one experience of a "canned hunt" (i.e., black-faced impala ram in a fenced area that the animals seemed acclimated to people and received a cell phone message of where exactly the ram was on the property).

I harvested the sable (39-5/8") in the second day but Tyron did not push me for additional trophies or leave me alone. He went the extra mile taking me out on walks for warthog and setting up on waterhole in the AM and PM. Harvested an old pig with character and saw a couple other large trophies with big teeth that did not capitalize on.