South Africa: Hunting too expensive for citizens/residents

Bushpig4Ever

AH enthusiast
Reaction score
Media
Hunted
Germany, Slovenia, Sardinia, England, Namibia, Zimbabwe, South Africa
IMG_1909.JPG
I'm a South African permanent resident since 35 years. Forester by profession, home country Germany.
Years back hunting was affordable. I hunted on open farms and for a kudu bull, venison plus trophy, I just paid R 350. Now all farms are surrounded by high fences and hunting became too expensive for citizens and permanent residents.

A lot of local hunters are selling their guns, they just can't afford hunting anymore. All my rifles I moved back to Germany, except one, a double barrel in 9,3x74R - and that rifle I gonna transfer to Germany too. No hunting in South Africa anymore I arrived in South Africa in 1983, then I was employed by the department of forestry. As a coordinator for wildlife-management I have had plenty of hunting oportunies. And often farmers called me when bushpigs were causing problems. I shot lots of bushpigs, because of that my nickname was bosvark (Afrikaans for bushpig) I hunted them mainly in mealies and oak forests, never used dogs nor artificial lights - the bright moonshine and my big excellent German telescope was all I needed. I'm dreaming, sorry...

Sorry to hear that. The second bushbuck from the left.....monster!

Sorry to read this. Hunting should get available for the country's own residents, for many reasons. One of them is needed in order to keep hunting an activity people accepts as natural, necessary and a good thing.

Must admit that I have heard from other residents that hunting opportunities are plentiful and relatively affordable.