Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Europe
Member of
NRA (Life), True Green Alliance
Hunted
USA, Finland, Canada, Africa, Greenland
Some use a rifle so they can hunt. Others hunt so they can use specific rifles. Like me, for example.

1655773241711.jpeg

It was 1995 or thereabouts when NRA launched a publication program featuring reprints of hunting and firearm classics, all nicely bound in pigskin and gold accents and complete with matching silk bookmarks. The first title they republished—and the only one I’ve read multiple times cover to cover—was John Taylor’s African Rifles and Cartridges, a Bible of sorts for British ordnance and terminal ballistics for the Dark Continent. Back then, I was a semi-starving student finishing his MBA at Texas Christian University in Ft. Worth—as far (geographically and financially) from African big-game hunting as any 20-something-year-old will ever be. Yet, this book changed my life.

1655772571480.png

I saved money each month so I could buy myself a .416 Rigby Ruger No. 1 (which I have since sold)—bought just in case Babar would escape from the local zoo and turn rogue in my white-picket-fenced neighborhood—and got my hands on anything I could read about the Africa of yore. Stigand, Bell, Selous, Patterson—I devoured it all with a zest that only a youthful heart can bestow.

Fast forward more years than I care to count, and safaris have become a reality for me. This year, in particular, I was determined to finish my spiral-horned slam in South Africa with @KAROO WILD Safaris, a tremendous outfit with whom I’ve already hunted and that has treated me like royalty while giving me the memories of a lifetime. Karoo Wild is based in the Eastern cape and has access to hundreds of thousands of wild acres teeming with (among other animals) over 40 species of plains game with the highest kudu density in Africa.