SOUTH AFRICA: 1st Time Hunting Part 1

Hunter8mm

Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Hi all! I am new to the AH community. The following will be an account of my trip to South Africa with my husband in the fall of last year. It was an incredible experience which I am so grateful to have had. My husband and I went with Lianga Safaris and had the privilege of working with the owners Herman and Annette Scheepers. We arrived in South Africa and they picked us up from the airport as promised. They were so friendly and really made us feel at home. When we got to their lodge I was amazed at how beautiful everything was. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. Best of all was seeing their many hunting dogs! I love dogs and so it made me feel even more comfortable and at home being able to interact with their happy pack of pups!

That afternoon, Herman our PH took us out for a quick hunt before dark. My husband was able to get a shot off at a nice blesbuck and that was his first trophy. Unfortunately, after this darkness had set in and he and I were both too tired to keep trekking.

The next day we went out again. While we were riding in the back of the truck, my husband told me that we would be trying for zebra later in the trip but that Herman had another area he wanted to take us for that. He also told me that we would not be shooting any zebra on his land. A little while later, Herman stopped the truck and he and I went stocking for wildebeest. As we went along he lined me up on a zebra. I was confused because I thought I was not allowed to take one on his land. My cross hairs were spot on the shoulder; he said to take the shot and I paused to ask what the price was. Unfortunately, the zebra ran off. Herman then explained to me that if he tells me to take something not to worry about the cost and that we would work it out. To this day I am still mad at myself for being so inexperienced. A perfect line up and I blew it.