Solids for the .404J

Nevada Mike

AH elite
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Hunted
Arizona, California, Nevada, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, So. Dakota, No. Dakota, Texas, Colorado, New Mexico, Michigan, Saskatchewan, Old Mexico, British Columbia, Tanzania
I am planning a 21 day hunt in Western Tanzania in fall of 2022. In preparing for ths trip I need advice on the subject of solid ammunition for my .404.

My PH / Outfitter advised me to bring about 20 rounds of solids (and 60 rounds of softs) for my .404 Jeffery. This will be a buffalo hunt mainly. I have 400 grain Woodleigh and Barnes Banded solids and I am looking at the Swift Breakaway (not currently available from Swift).

I am leaning towards the Woodleighs simply because I have chosen Woodleigh 400 grain softs and felt they might be ballistically similar as far as POI is concerned. I am also ordering some 400 grain Swift A Frames in .422 to experiment with.

I have zero experience with large bore solids so I am asking opinions and advise from you all.

Mike,
I have used both of the North Fork offerings in my 404. I did not find the Cup Points to be all they were said to be, but I did use the Flat points with good success. Had lack of penetration with the Cup Points and my PH had seen and had personally, the same problem and was not happy about his clients using them. Very limited experience here so take it for what it is.

Proneshooter - - Thanks! That is the type of data I am looking for.