Therack

AH enthusiast
Reaction score
Media
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
NRA PF DU NWTF
In preparation for my upcoming hunt I purchased shooting sticks. Before going to the range I have some questions on form. Does my forward hand grip the sticks or the rifle stock? Are my feet shoulder width apart or one foot in front of the other? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Therack,
I grip the forestock with my left hand and seat the rifle snugly into the sticks.....this keeps the rifle from jumping up as you fire. With my 416 and 458 Lott I lean into the rifle with my left foot/leg well forward because of the recoil. With my 300 win mag I don't need to do that but it feels comfortable to me so it is the position I use but I don't lean in. I have seen people square up to the sticks and shoot just fine. See what works for you.

I'm no expert by any means it here is what I do with my 375 and 458 Lott. I'm right handed.

I hold the rifle like I normally would shooting off hand. Pull the butt in nice and tight. Left foot forward and leaning into it a bit (I try to let my body roll at the abdomen with the recoil as much as I can). I make my feet about shoulder width apart with the heel of my left foot about in line where the toe of my right foot is. I keep my knees slightly bent. It's really kind of a boxer's stance.

I then simply place my hand in the V of the sticks. That way I maintain control of the gun and the sticks remain in place. It isn't the most comfortable place for my left hand but it is the best position for me. A glove makes it a bit more comfortable.

I found doing this was more steady for me than holding the sticks, holding the gun to the sticks, or holding the gun and placing the stock in the sticks. Not holding the fore end is simply not an option with the Lott. The thing jumps out of the sticks like its spring loaded. However, it is possible to shoot the 375 without holding the fore end.