AH senior member
Reaction score
Hunting reports
Africa
Member of
NRA, RMEF
Hunted
USA, Canada, South Africa
Well, 6 weeks to go. I spent 3 hours at the range yesterday tenderizing/pulverizing my shoulder. 70 rounds and the rifle is set to go. Got it dialed in for everything from 50 yards out to 300. I must admit I am very disappointed with my performance shooting off a set of bipod sticks though. I can almost do okay at 100 yards but any thing over that will be a crap shoot. I have a big problem with left and right swaying. All you stick bangers out there, I need some pointers. Whats your favorite form. Foot positioning, elbows in or out, lean forward etc., etc., etc. I have shot deer at 250 yards off hand on more than one occasion and never had to fire a second shot. What am I doing wrong? Next trip to the range is going to be sticks first.
Thanks in advance,
Kirk

I'm new with the sticks, by I've used trees and walls on a number of occasions. While practicing on sticks I've found it helpful to lean them backwards slightly, me forward into them. I put my non shooting hand grasping the V of the bipod, index finger pointing to the target. It helps me feel like I'm calling my shot like Babe Ruth. Typically have 100 yard groups inside 3 inches like this.

Side note, I've been using Korean surplus 30-06 ammo for practicing. Better quality ammo and I may well hit smaller groups. The steel down range on another site rings each time, and water bottles fear me...

turn your bi into a tri ,lad....
my gracious wife couldn't hit shit with a bipod a month ago . now she is hitting 600 ml soft drink bottles out toi 150 metres . one after the other .
in a post about making your own shooting sticks ,on here .
look up 35 bores and code4 posts .that is where I got the plan from .
$8 bamboo pole and some string, hey presto , theres your start .
once she got comfortable with this set up .
l bought a primos trigger stick tripod , and now I have to get her permission to use it .